Louie’s Oyster Bar & Grille is much more than a restaurant; we are a dining landmark with a fascinating history. From its start in 1905,
Louis Zwerlein’s “Kare Killer” was a most unusual place...
One had to get there by boat since it was built on a floating barge anchored out in the bay. One of its side attractions was that it afforded a fine view of the approaching boats from shore. On occasion, a husband sighting his wife on a course for the barge would dive headlong off the far side and strike out for Great Neck.
When prohibition killed the Kare Killer in 1920, the business moved to a spot adjacent to the Town Dock, renting boats, selling chowder and other seafood. Another move in the early thirties placed the restaurant in its present location still on the Main Street waterfront. In 1954, it was expanded into an adjoining building that had originally been a blacksmith shop.
In 2002, the restaurant underwent a complete and spectacular renovation. As a result, Louie’s Oyster Bar & Grille begins a new century completely transformed; offering its patrons an elegant and tasteful dining experience coupled with the freshest and finest seafood and American style dishes.
On The Waterfront
395 Main St. • Port Washington, NY 11050